Poky-poky!

We don’t have grandchildren of our own but have a lot of friends within the apartment complex who do. The little community atmosphere that gets created in apartments has ensured that we are very close to most families and their little ones. My husband and I are especially very fond of one little fairy called Avika. Six year old Avika lives in the building right next to ours and is the grand-daughter of my husband’s close friend. Lets call him R.

Now every evening R comes home to chit-chat with us, mostly bringing his wife and grand-daughter along, his son and daughter in law being away at work. Avika has been taught to dutifully give both of us a hug before she runs off to watch cartoons or to find something to play with.

Last Friday three of them rang the bell at precisely 4:30 PM. That is when a mischievous idea struck me. With ‘shave or crave’ on my mind, I hatched a plan. When R and wife had stepped inside, I took Avika aside. After a quick cuddle and exchange of instructions we joined the group. I served hot ginger tea with jeera bicuits to everyone over some jokes and banter. Suddenly, as expected, my husband looked at Avika making a mock-angry face and said, “What did you forget today?”

“Nothing.” She responded.

“Think again!”

“Thought.”

“Where is my hug?”

“I got my hug.” I chipped in.

More mock anger from husband.

Avika shooked her head.

“What happened?” he asked.

“Your cheeks are poky-poky. I like hugging amma because her cheeks are soft.” Avika pointed to me and everybody burst out laughing. 

The next evening when little Avika came home with R, the husband sat prim and clean-shaven and as a reward got a hug as well as a complimentary kiss from my partner in crime! 😉

 

This post is a part of the ‘Shave or Crave’ movement in association with BlogAdda.com

This entry was published on January 7, 2013 at 9:48 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

