The melting resolve

This is around the time when I had just finished my post graduation studies. I was keen on pursuing theater.

But the pressure on me to get married was so much that I felt like I will burst. So I finally decided to humor my parents by agreeing to meet an ‘eligible bachelor’. This was my elder sister’s brother-in-law so there were a lot of we-are-a-big-happy-family jokes to be expected. I braced myself to fake a smile throughout the meeting.

On the duly decided date, I was given the demurest of salwar-kamizes to wear. Though I’d like to have been as bold as sharmila Tagore and Zeenat Aman, I was very nervous. Not that anybody noticed in my family. The focus was more on the ‘mehmano-ki-khatirdari’ than on the would-be bride.

So, the groom’s entire khandan arrived and were seated in the hall. I was sent there with a tray full of tea cups. Before entering, I told myself to focus on the tray, not look at anyone (especially the joker) and just exit at the earliest.

tea-set-174958_640

But, as I edged my way back after placing the tray, I caught sight of the boy from the corner of my eye. A quiet, unassuming chap with clean and sharp looks – yes, I seem to have registered all this in a glance.

But there was something more. I felt something in my heart thawing. I stood there gauging my own feelings which were confusing me terribly. Why was I feeling something magnetic? Where was my resolve to escape the situation! I was supposed to run now!

And slowly I knew….

It was simply a case of his smooth irresistible looks. It was simply a case of a handsome joker arresting my heart.

Clearly, that day, his clean shaven look bowled me over!

Protest Against Unclean Stubble Activity in association with BlogAdda.

This entry was published on December 31, 2013 at 6:03 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “The melting resolve

  1. The all too familiar “take the tea in so everyone can check you out” scenario! Been there, done that.

  2. Dhriti on said:

    Ahhhh so romantic 🙂

Leave a Reply

