Your home is not just walls and bricks

My husband and I have only moved homes once in our life, and it was two years back. We moved to this spacious yet cozy apartment in the greener belt of Delhi. And now I feel like I have been here all my life. My home is my paradise. My home is my temple. There are many emotions that I associate with my home…

A warm bed that I can’t get out of in the morning,

A little indoor plant in a corner of the bathroom,

The sound of my husband’s key in the door at the end of the day,

The bell chimes of the milk man who delivers early morning to all apartments.

 bed

The sensation of peace on a cozy, rainy Sunday,

The feeling of relief when I see our building after a long trip;

My trusted kitchen where I can cook in my night gown,

Plenty of sun warming us from all sides.

ap - sun flower

These are only some of the images that come to my mind when I think of home. There’s no place like home. As we journey through life, it’s comforting to know that a cozy bed, loving faces, and serenity wait for us somewhere.

With all this love, emotion and belonging, I have doing up my new home over the last two years. We got this house as a skeleton and it suited us well because now, each room has our signature, each door was chosen by us lovingly and each furniture talks of our endless discussions or arguments over it. But the process of turning our house into a home is far from complete. In fact I am not even sure if this process ever ends because there are always those endless little things that you need to do around your home. And I’m not complaining because there is nothing that I love more than caring for my home!

In order to create gorgeous, cozy and sophisticated spaces in your home, I follow some very simple rules:

The right paints: This is the easiest way to create the perfect look for your house. The right paint catches attention of your guests, reflects your personality and affects your mood positively. Patch tests can help you make sure that the right colors are selected for each of your rooms and living spaces. These days you can play with various colors through contrasts or highlights in order to create drama and make a strong impression! But more than anything else, the right trusted quality is important which will last you and not give up on you when you most need it.

My home story: I have contrasts of grey and white in my living room and dining room and it makes these rooms come alive with zest and style. My bedrooms are subtle with light shades. My kitchen is all wood and I love cooking in the rustic looks. My bathrooms are floral colors with lots of pep and freshness.

flowers-181641_640

Lighting: This element is very important for you to function properly in your home! You need light to walk, read and see. But more than that, lighting can create a lot of excitement in your home. A great chandelier can change the character of your living room. A perfect lamp can enhance your bedroom.

My home story: I have a huge lovely chandelier in my living room that can be lit up in various combinations of lights. In each of my bed rooms, I have got lamps of the same color and size to achieve consistency. These lamps are medium size and give yellow light. My bathrooms are dimly lit since I’m always inspired by bathrooms of star hotels!

Flooring: This element is not just what you will walk on every day. The right flooring can do wonders by complimenting your paint colors, lighting and furniture. These days, there are millions of flooring options available through which you can create any impression in your house that you want, whether resembling nature, or woodlands, or high end boutiques.

My home story: Across my house, I have classic marble flooring that gives me a feeling of cleanliness and class. For my balconies, I am planning to get a flooring of artificial grass to create the perfect kitchen garden ambience.

Art and décor: The right sculptures, art pieces, portraits and show pieces can say a lot about you and your home. Not just for guests, but the things around your home can affect you drastically too. But an important point is that you should not compromise on the quality of stuff you buy.

My home story: I have collected a lot of beautiful pieces of art and craft throughout my travels. These are displayed around my house in various places. I have specially designed glass cupboards where I display beautiful gifts from friends and family from across the world.

zen-178992_640

One trusted partner for me in my efforts towards making my perfect little haven has been Asian Paints Home Solutions. They have been my friend, adviser and partner in my journey towards a perfect home. Through their solutions for all aspects of my home, I have been able to get trustworthy and beautiful looks and ambiance for all my rooms and living spaces.

Whether be your living room,

ap living room

Or you bedroom,

ap bedroom

Your kitchen,

ap kitchen

Or your dining room,

ap dining

Asian Paints home Solutions has answers for everything. Since its foundation in 1942, Asian Paints has come a long way to become India’s largest and Asia’s third largest paint company, with a turnover of Rs. 109.70 billion. Asian Paints operates in 17 countries and has 25 paint manufacturing facilities in the world servicing consumers in over 65 countries. They are very environment conscious too so I feel happy to be associated with Asian Paints Home Solutions. Their practices ensure that their products not only meet VOC safety standards, but exceed them.

At the end all I can say is that whenever you set out on that important mission to do up your home, remember that your house is a lot more than four walls made of bricks. After a long tiring day of work the only thing you look forward to getting back home, having a nice cup of tea and spending some cherished moments with your family. Those moments and the togetherness of a family make house ‘a home’. As you undertake your journey from a house to a home, I wish you good luck and leave you with thoughts from some visionaries….

Charles Dickens

Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit ever answered to, in the strongest conjuration.

Jane Austen

There is nothing like staying at home for real comfort.

George Washington

I had rather be on my farm than be emperor of the world.

Confucius

The strength of a nation derives from the integrity of the home.

p.s. This is a promotional post but all the points, thoughts or tips shared are based on my own personal experience. All pictures are courtesy Asian Paints Home Solutions and pixabay. You can follow Asian Paints on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

73 thoughts on “Your home is not just walls and bricks

  1. Howdy this is kinda off off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors orr if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blkog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. They seem to have quite individual tastes, so try a variety of vegetables
    and fruit to see what yours likes. It should also be placed
    somewhere quiet, where there isn’t a lot of ‘traffic’ or noise
    either from people or household appliances. The Inasoc is currently improving the number of flights, especially connecting flights from Jakarta
    and Singapore to Palembang, and also easiness for charter airflights from
    other SEA Games participating nations.

  3. And that is how this fabulous building ended up with a contemporary dragon statue of sorts: the
    helmet of Darth Vader. In Feng Shui, colours are used according to
    the five elements of the Feng Shui theory:
    Fire, Earth, Metal, Water, and Wood. The drum is used to establish a rhythm for the rowers and
    is one of the most unique aspects of this sport.

  4. Plan a budget for your wedding dress ahead of time, being sure to include a budget for alterations,
    pressing, and storage until your wedding day. They have a range of
    elegantly designed wedding dresses to choose from that are sure to be in your
    budget. Traditional guests may possibly have adverse reactions,
    so be prepared.

  5. Hello this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to
    know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to
    get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be
    greatly appreciated!

  6. Most time tracking software has an icon to help remind you it is tracking you, so you can click on it
    as you are working. And it true, we are not born creative, creativity
    needs to developed within us bringing effective marketing results.
    If you have several employees, you’ll be able to do the same for
    them.

  7. I simply couldn’t leave your website before suggesting that I actually
    enjoyed the standard info a person supply for your visitors?
    Is going to be back incessantly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  8. And because you charged a high interest rate, you have gained a lot of cash.
    If you worked out how much per week your investment property
    grew in value per week by doubling every ten years I’m sure it would
    far out way the short term negative gearing.
    However, in others, like the United States, this is not the case.

Leave a Reply

