Start a new life!

Sometimes in life you have to make choices – whether to continue with age old tried and tested formulae or to make a new start. It is up to us at the time what we decide. We can opt for change or for the safety net, for the new or the age-old. But we need to remember this (quoting Housing): Change signifies that we’re moving forward, living better, and giving ourselves the chance to be the best we can possibly be. Here’s their new video that manages to capture the beauty of starting a new life in the most fascinating manner! So watch the video and dance to their rocking bhangra music…

I would like to share an anecdote from my life of an instant where I demonstrated the spark and courage to #StartANewLife…….

I loved acting since the time I was very tiny. I would enact my favorite movie scenes in front of the mirror and imitate my favorite actors. And as you may know from couple of my earlier posts, I started acting on stage of my girls’ school. This involved initial reluctance from my family and eventually support from them. But this move from my side was not an overnight or easy one. Here is how it happened.

One day I saw an older girl acting on the stage. She was pretty and confident. She spoke lines that seemed so perfect that I almost believed they were her own. She stood there in front of a captivated audience mesmerized by her. Throughout the duration of the play, her role (which was pivotal) captivated the audience thoroughly. I never remembered seeing her in school, but now on the stage she seemed like the most charismatic person ever. I just kept staring at her. All I remember now from that day is her strong voice, her expressive eyes, her confident gestures and her easy manner. She acted like she owned the stage. And on that day, I knew this is what I wanted to be.

I loved acting but holding the audience in that way was something else. Having people eating out of your hands believing every word you said and becoming one with you was a feeling so special that I wanted it for myself too. I decided to approach the drama teacher.

The next day I spoke with the teacher and she agreed to include me in the group. I started with backstage work which allowed me to learn a lot. I then started getting small roles when the teacher appreciated my initiative and passion. Soon I was acting alongside that actress who had first inspired me. Standing with her in front of a live audiences, receiving encouraging body language from her and managing to pull off my role with little or no mistake made that day one of the most memorable days of my life.

Making that move to approach the teacher, join the drama group and chase my passion has been one of my most bold moves ever. That step changed my life for the better and I am very proud of myself for it.

This entry was published on March 14, 2015 at 4:20 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

