A poem for the one I love!

So you may have read my last post and have gotten some sense of my feelings for my husband and my family – what I care most in the world! Obviously I care a lot about cooking and food, which was the biggest reason to start this blog, but then what is the point of cooking if you cannot do it for the people you love! What is the point of having a table laden with delicacies but nobody to share it with? What is the point of being the perfect chef if I cannot share my perfections with those who will admire it, savor it, and even if they don’t compliment me as abundantly as I would want them to, I know that they deeply appreciate it.

So obviously my last post, an ode to my husband, was so express all of that and more. But it somehow did not feel concluded – there was so much more I wanted to say about my better half! Here’s another one for my husband where I want to talk about how he makes my life Fantastico every day!

He may not be perfect,

he may not be a star,

at times because of his silliness,

he may feel really far.

 

He annoys me, he fights,

he sulks and he complains.

He expects too much at times

‘pakodas’ every time it rains!

 

He forgets my birthdays and our anniversaries,

he watches too much TV!

He gets angry at the drop of the hat,

though at times he is zen like and its eerie!

 

He is a foodie who is too choosy,

he could irritate you with requests,

he picks the wrong days to ask for elaborate meals

and never tells me that in cooking I am the best!

 

But he is funny, and he is nice,

he helps me when I need it the most,

he is my dinner companion, he is my confidante

and he is the one that I respect the most.

 

I learn from him, I am inspired by him,

He helps me each day to develop and grow.

That is why I am convinced,

He has made my life truly fantastico!

 

You know in the end, all I can say is that my husband is not perfect, but he is perfect for me. I love this quote below – my favorite about husbands from the world of fiction:

“I know what it is to live entirely for and with what I love best on earth. I hold myself supremely blest — blest beyond what language can express; because I am my husband’s life as fully as he is mine.”

― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

 *

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

