My love for music, for beautiful soulful ghazals

You may have discovered from my previous posts that I was into acting and theater in my college days. What you may not know however is that I was also into music. I used to be a singer, and that came in handy during the plays because I would end up singing the opening and closing songs for each of the plays that I acted in or even when I didn’t!

I love ghazals, and have keenly followed most reputed singers of our times. In this post, I want to share my favorite ghazals and I am hoping that my fellow ghazal lovers will enjoy listening to them. In fact I would be delighted if you share back some more with me, that you have loved and treasured over the years! So let us start with the maestro of them all!

Begum Akhtar

1914-1974

Akhtari Bai Faizabadi, also known as Begum Akhtar, was a well known Indian singer of Ghazal, and Dadra, and Thumri genres of Hindustani classical music. (Wikipedia) Here is one of her gems that I love:

 

Farida Khanum

1935 –

Farida Khanum is a Pakistani Classical Singer from the Punjab. The Times of India has called her Malika-e-Ghazal. (Wikipedia) And here is her song that has made millions around the world fall in love, and helped them recover from heartbreaks too!

 

Jagjit Singh

1941 – 2011

Jagjit Singh, born Jagmohan Singh, was a prominent Indian Ghazal singer, composer and musician. Known as the “Ghazal King”, he gained acclaim together with his wife, another renowned Indian ghazal singer Chitra Singh in the 1970s and 1980s. (Wikipedia) I love this one by him:

 

Ghulam Ali

1940 –

 Ustad Ghulam Ali is a Pakistani ghazal singer of the Patiala gharana . He is not to be confused with the Indian singer Bade Ghulam Ali Khan or Chhote Ghulam Ali, who is another Pakistani singer in the “Qawwal Bachon ka Gharana”. (Wikipedia) This is my all time favourite from this beautiful meliflous Ghazal maestro…

 

Abida Parveen

1954 –

Abida Parveen is a Pakistani singer of Sindhi descent and one of the foremost exponents of Sufi music. She is held as one of the world’s greatest mystic singers. (Wikipedia). While Abida is knows more as a sufi singer, I admire her range and ability to carry off songs of all types, including ghazals. I have enjoyed listening to her always and this one is my favourite from her repertoire:

 

 

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

This entry was published on January 21, 2016 at 8:32 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

