What are you grateful for?

Recently I wrote a post about my husband, and it was a great experience for me, filled with nostalgia and emotions. At times it happens that we feel that we express adequate love towards those most dear to us, but in reality that doesn’t happen. In reality, we keep waiting for the next day to tell them that we love them, we wait for the right moment to do something special for them, we think that its big days like Valentine ’s Day or anniversaries or birthdays that deserve surprises; but you know what? Those special days never come, those right moments are actually right here right now, and we keep waiting for them as if stars will suddenly start shining brighter and God will give us some clue or indication. None of that happens, so we go along with our morning ablutions, afternoon work, evening siesta and night time reflections without savoring moments with our loved ones.

So when I wrote about my love for my husband and my feelings for him, it was as if a dam had been opened. There was so much that I had to say, express and feel grateful about that I couldn’t be happier at having given that opportunity. So today when I read about another blogging initiative, in fact a great innovative initiative I should say, I decided to write about my husband again, because I feel that he has had so much ‘impact’ on me that it cannot be expressed easily or in just one blog post!

A man who has been with me through thick and thin, he has his flaws and weaknesses but there is so much in him to appreciate and express gratitude for, that I do not know where to begin. Firstly he has had impact on my overall state of mind. He is somebody who is normally relaxed and calm; while on the other hand I am hyper active and anxious type of a person. Being with him and noticing that sharp contrast used to initially baffle and irritate me, but over the years those qualities have naturally started rubbing off on me, and I am thankful for that!

He has also had an impact on my world view. I believe that girls today and breaking all kinds of feminine stereotypes and taking the world toward a place where all existing gender definitions will become useless. My husband is a progressive minded person who believes in this as strongly as I do. In fact he has added a deeper layer to my understanding of the world around me and I feel so much more equipped to introspect on what’s happening in the larger world, and how can I contribute towards it.

Finally my husband has impacted our family by providing for it in his best possible capacity. Coming from a humble background like he did, he never let that come in the way and did the best he could for me and my children. I cannot thank him enough for it!

 IMG_2620

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

