Recreating Bollywood in Pondicherry

 

Being a family means you are a part of something very wonderful. It means you will love and be loved for the rest of your life.

– Lisa Weedn

My family is my strength and my weakness. They are the people I want to go back to, no matter where in the world I am. Now that we are geographically spread apart in different parts of the world, we make it a point to meet once a year and spend some memorable moments together. It also gives the time for my husband and I to get out of home, and get change of scene. When you have been married for almost thirty years, like we have, making the effort to plan a trip just for the two of seems too much effort.

Last year, the entire family met up on the lovely beaches of Pondicherry. This French inspired town is dreamy and fun at the same time. It has the vibe of Goa in places but is proper and somber in other places. While the weather can be a bit of a trouble, because it’s so hot most of the time, everything else including the food left a wonderful impression on us. We spent a lot of time bonding as a family and having a great holiday.

Among the other things that we had planned for the holiday, I was looking forward to some alone time with my husband, to recreate some of the memories from our honeymoon and other romantic times we have had, especially during the early years of our marriage. Later, being caught up in children, bills and other responsibilities, romance got sidelined and almost forgotten. But I was not going to let it happen this time. So I planned to send the children away for a day exploring what Puducherry had to offer by way of shopping one day, and spend a quiet day on the beach with my husband.

When the D day came, the children kept wondering why I was not keen to go shopping with them because normally I was the one most keen on buying everything available and stuffing my already overflowing cupboards and home. But I told them I preferred a quiet day. Thankfully my husband said he will give me company and we stayed back at the private beach of our hotel. There is started telling him about Bollywood movie scenes where heroes and heroines are shown slowly running towards each other in slow motion. My husband looked at me as if I had gone mad.

I told him that slow running was supposed to be romantic and when the sun is setting in background then a beautiful embrace against that view is supposed to touch the viewers.

Never one to waste a moment, my husband listened to me patiently and then said, “Okay, shall we eat something now?”

“I am telling you something so romantic and you are thinking of food.” I said angrily.

“What’s romantic in running slowly towards each other on the beach?” He was genuinely confused.

“We will know if we try it.”

“Huh?”

“Yes, let’s.”

“Are you mad?”

“No.”

And then somehow I dragged my husband to the beach for the mock running. Obviously nothing that I imagined actually happened. He stood there clumsily for some time and said we should eat something. I was so irritated that I almost agreed when I saw our children hiding behind the tree and laughing crazily. When they saw that we had seen them, they came out.

“Oh this was the quiet day?”

“No, actually…” I did not know what to say.

“Okay, that running is too complicated. You both jump and we will take your pictures.” My daughter said.”

“Noooo…” My husband started.

“Come on, papa!”

Well, we did manage to do some jumping around. Here are some of the results 🙂

IMG_0113

IMG_0118

Truly, sharing a laugh makes sharing your life with your dream partner a beautiful and memorable journey 🙂

“This post is a part of #LoveAndLaughter activity at BlogAdda in association with Caratlane.”

 

This entry was published on January 30, 2016 at 12:50 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

